A new month with new knits.

Lovely Earl Grey socks for my man:

Earl Grey cables trailing.

These were such a breeze to knit, pattern wise, and got even better once I accepted that my beloved aluminum double pointed’s weren’t working well with the yarn. The wooden needles worked much better with the Lion Brand Sock Ease. I was curious about this yarn and found it nice for the pattern and it seems sturdy. Also, I did change something in the foot cabling. It was more to make it easier in my mind, not because I didn’t like the original. After the 12 row break from cabling, along the gusset, I knit the cable every 4 rounds all the way through the foot rather than having another 12 row break. Since I put these down so often over the past, maybe 6 months, it just seemed easier that way as I was usually lost on what row to knit after not looking at the sock for months at a time anyway.

✔022509 EG2 DSC_0072

I lovelovelove these socks. And yes, my guy is very happy with them too!

022409sp DSC_0024

Very exciting for me, one finished Pomatomus! It’s comfy and pretty. I adore the assortment of colors in the yarn. And more exciting is that I finished one because the start of this sock was rather rocky. I think I started it at least twice and unknit several times through out the sock. Though to be fair, part of the unknitting was due to my bad note taking. So I would abandon it for awhile and come back to the pattern not knowing where I was in the chart.

The yarn is Socks That Rock Silkie in Foofaraw. It’s very, very, very soft – even more than the regular STR.

So, that’s me for my first blog back! Hope it was a nice weekend for you.
*I noticed after posting that the photos of the socks have lost a great deal of clarity. I had noticed this on flickr but thought it was from resizing. I’m still playing with uploading trying to figure it out. I have the original open on my desktop and the colors in the Sock Ease POP, they are Turquoise! but on the screen uploaded through Typepad or Flickr they’re dull. Hmmm….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A new month with new knits.

  1. katie m. says:

    Welcome back! It was a nice surprise to find a new post from you this morning. I really like both of your new socks — the colors are great.

Leave a Reply

