My Unoriginal Hat

My Unoriginal Hat

A finished knit, An Unoriginal Hat by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee. The yarn is a thick and thin wool. I don’t know anything else about the yarn. I bought it in 2004 at the Black Sheep Gathering and know that it was locally hand-dyed but I don’t have the receipt anymore. This pattern is great. It turns out a really cute hat and knits up quickly. I started it late one night and finished it the next morning. Fast. And it helped me realize that I don’t dislike knitting cables like I thought I did. I just kind of dislike knitting tiny cables, like on socks or small gauge hats. That’s not to say I won’t, but there you have it.

2008 - Oct 27 - self-portrait

One more shot of the hat, though unflattering of me. Very. While the hat is very cute, the style is definitely not for me. Actually, neither is the color. So, this will be a gift for someone. And I might make another one of these sometime soon. And, one last shot.

Drawn to a certain type.

This was actually while the hat was still in progress. And on top of it is the gauge swatch that I knit up of the Aracaunia (for the hat I intend to knit myself). That was just because I noticed the similarity in the shades. More proof that I pick near identical shades most of the time. Yet, I think this shade has just enough more of the reds and plums that will make it look good on me. We’ll see. I still need to wash that gauge swatch by the way. I know, sad. The main reason for washing isn’t so much a concern of gauge as colors changing.

Okay, well it took me two weeks to get back with that! I actually was part way through a long post the day after I said I’d show the hat and my internet was being unbelievably slow. That lasted a few days. Since then I guess I’ve just been lazy. I can’t believe how fast time goes by! Anyway, I’m challenging myself (though I’m already late in the month because I hadn’t heard of it) with NaBloPoMo from today on for the month of November. Just so you know, it isn’t just my actual blogging I’m so behind on but also blog reading. So, today is the first time I read about the blogging challenge on Alli’s blog. I expect it to go well. Really. And I have a few more completed handknits to show so they may be spread out over a few days.

See you then.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Unoriginal Hat

  1. katie m. says:

    The hat looks great! Someone will be very lucky this year …
    Good luck with the posting challenge! I can’t wait to catch up on all of your knitting.

  2. Alli says:

    Good luck on the challenge! I’m doing pretty badly so far… It’s hard to remember to take pictures before it gets dark out!

Leave a Reply

